Results of the 2021 Election

The 2021 Election

Congratulations to the Winners of the Election.


The Secretary is responsible for communications between Executive Committee and TOXI members as well as the ACS.  The Secretary takes the minutes at the Executive Committee Meetings and keeps Divisional documents organized.  The Secretary notifies the Nominations Committee Chair of the vacancies for the next election and then conducts the election. 

Linlin Zhao

Assistant Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of California, Riverside. He received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from Jilin University in China (2005) and Ph.D. degree in Bioanalytical Chemistry from University of Connecticut (2010) under the supervision of Profs. James Rusling and John Schenkman. He worked with Prof. F. Peter Guengerich at the Department of Biochemistry at Vanderbilt University School of Medicine as a postdoctoral fellow focusing on the enzymology of specialized DNA polymerases in the context of mutagenicity of carcinogen-modified DNA. He started his independent career in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Central Michigan University in 2013, and relocated to the Department of Chemistry at University of California, Riverside in 2019.


The Treasurer and Treasurer-Elect shall each serve two-year terms. The Treasurer-Elect shall accede to the office of Treasurer at the end of the term of office. The Treasurer shall have charge of the funds of the Division and shall receive payments and make all disbursements subject to the approval of the Executive Committee. A report of the Treasurer shall be submitted to the Division at its annual meeting. The financial portion of this report shall be audited by a qualified external auditor. The Treasurer-Elect shall fulfill the duties of the Treasurer in the absence of the Treasurer.

Grover P Miller

Professor in the Dept of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Univ of Ark for Medical Sciences. He teaches medical, graduate, and undergraduate students about protein chemistry, enzymology, xenobiotic metabolism, and scientific communication and maintains an active research program. Prof. Miller’s group leverages powerful analytical, biochemical and computational tools to identify and quantitate small molecules including drugs, dietary molecules, and pollutants during metabolism and correlate findings to biological activity and in vivo outcomes such as liver toxicity. His career began earning Chemistry and Biochemistry BS degrees from Louisiana State Univ (1992) and then a PhD under Stephen J. Benkovic from Penn State Univ (1997). He pursued postdoctoral research under F. Peter Guengerich at Vanderbilt Univ and earned an NIH NRSA Award. In 2001, he joined the Univ of Ark for Medical Sciences to set up his own research program.


 Members-at-Large to the Executive serve three year terms. The role of this position is two-fold: to help the Chair run the division by providing advise and chairing standing committees, and to learn how the Division is run in order to be an effective future Division Officer.

Stacy G. Wendell

Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology at the University of Pittsburgh.  She completed her requirements for BS degrees in both Biochemistry and Biology at Mount Saint Mary’s University in Emmitsburg, MD and a PhD in Chemistry from the University of Maryland Baltimore County. Her dissertation research investigated multiple chromatographic techniques used for the discrete separation of modified oligonucleotides. After graduate school Dr. Wendell was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Pennsylvania where she elucidated the molecular mechanisms of environmental causes of lung cancer. Under the mentorship of Dr. Ian Blair and Dr. Trevor Penning, she obtained an NRSA F32 from NIEHS focused on the mechanisms of benzo[a]pyrene (B[a]P) transport and metabolism. She also helped to define contributions of the CYP and aldoketo-reductase metabolism pathways to B[a]P-mediated lung carcinogenesis.  Secondary projects focused on the formation and signaling of arachidonic-acid derived bioactive fatty acids and their role in the lung. During her time at Penn Dr. Wendell became an expert in LC-MS method development for small molecules and lipids using atmospheric ionization techniques. These important studies are the foundation for her University of Pittsburgh research program focused on the application of mass spectrometry in the formation and signaling of bioactive fatty acids and their role in asthma and immune cell modulation.

Member of the Nomination Committee

The Nominating Committee consists of three members, one elected each year. The member with the longest tenure on the committee shall serve as Chair. Each year the Secretary of the Division contacts the members of the Nominating Committee and stipulates the offices that are to be filled. In making the nominations, the committee should be attentive to issues of diversity and look for broad representation within the membership of the division. The nominations should be submitted to the Executive Committee at their meeting, which falls during the national ACS meeting. At the business meeting of the general membership, the Chair should open the floor for additional nominations. Once the nominations are closed, the Secretary should be informed as to the nominees and prepare the ballots accordingly.

Shana Sturla

Professor of Toxicology at the ETH Zurich, Switzerland. Prof. Sturla was born in Brooklyn, New York and studied Chemistry at the University of California at Berkeley and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. She was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Minnesota Cancer Center with Prof. Stephen Hecht. Goals of her research are to elucidate the chemical basis of mutagenesis and toxicity, and to promote innovative bioanalysis strategies for predicting chemical hazards and precision responses to cancer therapeutics. Prof. Sturla teaches courses in Toxicology, Chemical Biology and Carcinogenesis. She is the immediate past chair of the Division, Vice President of the Swiss Society of Toxicology, Member of the Swiss Academies of Science Platform Chemistry, and Editor-In-Chief of Chemical Research in Toxicology. Shana enjoys biking, running, cross country skiing, rowing and learning curious functionalities in ChemDraw from her 8-year old son. @ProfessorShana @Toxicology_ETH